Bibliographic Management Software Workshops
Below is the schedule for EndNote and other bibliographic management software workshops offered at Indiana State University.
Introduction to EndNote Workshops (Library room 230)
Monday, September 22, 2014 @ 10:00-11:30 am
Thursday, September 25, 2014 @ 9:30-11:00 am
All faculty, students, staff welcome.
Make the most of your research time and build a discipline-specific database of sources with EndNote. EndNote is a bibliographic management software designed to download, store, and manage bibliographic references in private desktop reference libraries and/or online via EndNote Web within the Web of Knowledge database. In this session, Librarian Shelley Arvin will demonstrate the private desktop version and how to create an EndNote library, add and edit records, and search for and import bibliographic records. You will also learn how to make EndNote automatically format your bibliography and insert it into a manuscript in Microsoft Word. EndNote is an invaluable and essential tool for dissertations, manuscript development and ongoing research projects.
The latest version, EndNote X7, is available for download through the library Web site at http://library.indstate.edu/intranet/endnote/ Computers will be provided. If you wish to use your own laptop during the workshop, please install the software prior to the session. It can take time to install correctly and the instructor will not have time to assist you during the workshop. Otherwise, computers will be provided. Mac users are welcome but Macs display the software slightly differently. For more information, contact Shelley Arvin at 237-2605 or email@example.com Online support is available at http://libguides.indstate.edu/endnote
Bibliographic Management Software
Bibliographic management software is an application designed to store, organize, manage, and format your citations into the appropriate citation style. In some cases, the software may search and download records automatically from a database and even insert the citation into your document for you.
Citation styles are very strict, rigid sets of rules that govern how your citations must look. There are hundreds of citation styles in existence. While styles vary, each one states where the citations should be placed in a paper, what citation features should be italicized or bolded, and how each piece of publication information should look. Computers do very well at formatting citation styles because computers are very good at following rules. What computers are not good at are exceptions to those rules. Computers are stupid. They do not know that NASA should be capitalized or that "Queen" is not the first name of Queen Elizabeth.
Students must still learn the rules of citation styles so that they can recognize errors and exceptions in bibiographic management software and can tell the computer to make an exception.
There are a variety of biblographic management tools available. Some are located free on the Web. These tend to be simple and offer only the most common citation styles and publication types. Bibliographic management software available for purchase offers more functionality but can be more difficult to learn to use.
Free Web-based Citation Managers
Verify the accuracy of the citations produced by these applications. You are still responsible if mistakes are made.
EndNote.com schedule of upcoming Endnote classes. When clicked, the training schedule allows you to change to your time zone.
World Time Zones: http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/
Indiana Time Zones: http://www.timetemperature.com/tzus/indiana_time_zone.shtml
EndNote Training: http://endnote.com/training (ISI company-created video tutorials, Getting Started Guide, and Webinar classes)
Chat is offline.