Books in Our Library
Terre Haute : Queen City of the Wabash
Call Number: F534.T3 M33 2005
ISBN/ISSN: 0738524069
Terre Haute & Vigo County in vintage postcards
Call Number: F534.T34 J47 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 0738507474
ISU Special Collections

Located on the third floor of the Indiana State University Library, the Special Collection Department contains books, manuscripts, pamphlets, prints, photographs, maps, and memorabilia housed in 13 major collections and several repositories. The Indiana Collection and the Debs Collection are particularly germane to research on Indiana. The former focuses on the state, counties, and literary figures, while the Debs Collection focuses on Terre Haute native and political figure Eugene V. Debs, his circle, as well as various social and political movements.
ISU University Archives

The Indiana State University Archives and Records Center collects, preserves, exhibits and makes available records that document the history of the University community. The collections are made up of the organizational and development records of the University through the permanent records created and received by University departments and offices.
Search Google Books
Search Google Scholar
(search results open in a new window)
Indiana State University Library Databases
|
|
You will need your Sycamore Login and Password for remote access to these resources. If you have never logged into your account, go to: http://myisu.indstate.edu. For help consult the Library's Technology Help page. If you have any difficulties with your Sycamore Login/Password, please contact the IT Help Desk toll-free at 1-888-818-5465, or at (812) 237-2910.
|
- Electronic Resources Consider this your gateway to ALL subscription based e-resources available at the Indiana State University Library. You must be affiliated with ISU to use these subscription resources. Here you'll find e-books, e-journals, and more. If you bookmark only one library page, this should be the one for remote access!
- ISU Library Catalog This is the library joint-catalog of the Indiana State University, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology and Saint Mary of the Woods University. A few books from the ISU print collection are featured in the box to your left.
- WorldCat WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. WorldCat grows every day thanks to the efforts of librarians and other information professionals.
- History Databases You can find this list of history databases on the Electronic Resources page. But here is a shortcut.
Indiana Libraries, Archives, and Museums
|
Here's a select list of resources. Bear in mind that many universities house archives or museums, while many museums contain their own libraries. So distinctions between library, archive, and museum are not always pure. Please refer to other link boxes on this page for additional avenues of research. |
|
- Clabber Girl Museum The museum is a mixture of many kinds of exhibits. The museum is a mixture of many kinds of exhibits. The interior of the building itself, which was built in 1892, has been remodeled as it was in the beginning. Oak paneled walls throughout the museum clos
- Conner Prairie One of the nation's most innovative outdoor living history museums. Experience 19th-century American culture in new and thrilling ways.
- Eiteljorg Museum The Eiteljorg Museum showcases Western and Native American art and cultural objects. The museum's design is also inpired by the land, people, and architecture of the American Southwest.
- Indiana Academic Libraries List of college and university libraries, maintained by the Indiana State Government.
- Indiana County History Promoting all 92 Indiana counties, includes maps, histories, images and growing number of late 1800s biographies.
- Indiana Historical Bureau The Indiana Historical Bureau provides publications, programs, and other opportunities for Indiana citizens of all ages to learn and teach about the history of their communities, the state of Indiana, and their relationships to the nation and the world.
- Indiana Memory Indiana Memory, the Indiana digital library, is a collaboration of Indiana libraries, museums, archives, and related cultural organizations to enable access to Indiana's unique cultural and historical heritage through a variety of digital formats and free
- Indiana Museums List of museums from the popular MuseumStuff site.
- Indiana Public Libraries This list comes from a site that provides lists of different types of libraries.
- Indiana State Library The Indiana State Library has developed strong collections in the fields of Indiana history and culture, Indiana state government and United States government publications, Indiana newspapers, genealogy and family history resources.
- Indiana State Museum The Indiana State Museum brings the best of the museum world to Indiana. Filled with three floors of Core Galleries telling the story of Indiana, as well as fascinating changing exhibits. The museum explores art, science and culture.
Flood of 2008

Loading Video Clip...
Local Ghost Stories

Loading Video Clip...
WV3

Wabash Valley Visions & Voices is a digital memory project focused on the Wabash Valley region in west central Indiana and east central Illinois. Its mission is to document and preserve the history and cultural heritage of the region in a digital format made accessible through the World Wide Web. Local libraries, archives, historical societies and museums are contributing to the searchable database that contains images linked to descriptive information referred to as metadata. The database holds still and moving pictures, artifacts, manuscripts, yearbooks, and printed texts, that are both historic and recent in origin.
Research Center for Local History & Culture

The Research Center for Local History and Culture at Indiana State University helps students engage in original research into the history, people, and traditions of Illinois and Indiana. Working with ISU faculty members and through existing courses, students can design their own projects that will take them into the community as active scholars. All ISU students and faculty can use the Research Center's facilities and resources, and qualified students may apply to become Undergraduate Fellows.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait