indiana state university home library home libguides home library home indiana state university home ezproxy login Image Map
Cheat SheetSearch TutorialsAlertsLibrary GamesFailed Searches
ScienceDirect Tutorials
EBSCO go toEBSCO Search TutorialsEBSCO Special FeaturesEBSCO Tutorials
ProQuest TutorialsProQuest Tutorials
JSTOR Training Materials
Project Muse Training Guides
Gale Tutorials
Web of Knowledge Tutorials
LC Subject HeadingsLC Call NumbersDewey DecimalSuDoc
PsycINFO tutorials on EBSCOhost
Chemical Abstracts Service on YouTubeSciFinder Web Tutorials
ARTstor Getting Started
How to Use MMY & Tests in Print
CINAHL Research InstrumentsEBP Filters for CINAHLPublication Types
This is the "Home" page of the "DATABASES" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

DATABASES  

One stop shop to learn about the variety of databases available to ISU
Last Updated: Sep 3, 2014 URL: http://libguides.indstate.edu/databases Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Featured Guides

ISU LIBRARY BASICS
by Shelley Arvin, Steve Hardin, Rolland McGiverin, Marsha Miller - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
What you need to know to get started with your research at the ISU Library.
864 views this year
Indiana State University Math & Writing Center
by Nicole Bailey - Last Updated Sep 6, 2014
The MWC helps students from all departments develop the essential skills of math and writing.
11,594 views this year
Distance Learning at ISU Library
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Jun 17, 2014
Information for online classes and distance learners at ISU. It is the responsibility of Indiana State University Library to provide access to library materials and databases to ISU students no matter where they take a course.
2,233 views this year
Freshman Writing: Library Research
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Nov 1, 2013
Basics of library resource use - online catalog, databases, topic selection; based on ISU's Freshman Writing courses, Eng 105 & 107
490 views this year

Key Links

About Databases

A database is a structured collection of records or data. A file cabinet of files and folders is a database. A spreadsheet of data is a database. A software program of searchable bibliographic library records is also a database and is more commonly thought of when the term "database" is used.

The ISU Library provides access to many electronic databases that are useful for research, study, and knowledge acquisition. Some are available for free to anyone but some are provided through a subscription paid by the Indiana State University Library.

Electronic databases use a search engine to access and retrieve relevant records. The patron enters into the search engine terms relevant to what he wants to know and the search engine retrieves records with those terms according to whatever rules were programmed into that search engine. Different search engines work differently. And different databases contain different records within them so it is useful to search more than one database if you are researching a topic thoroughly.

      

    Database Search Tutorials

    Database Tutorials

    Writing Tutorials

     

    Ask!

     

    Ask a Librarian

    JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip