About Tests and Instruments
Tests are copyrighted. If someone posts a published test without the permission of the copyright holder, they are violating copyright. To obtain permission, contact the copyright holder in writing (print or email).
Check the validity and reliability of tests and instruments. Do they really measure what they claim to measure? Research articles that used the test will often include reliability and validity data.
Search for Tests and Instruments
- Try searching for the test title in a good search engine like Google, Google Scholar, FastSearch, Ask.com or AltaVista.
- Try searching for a journal article with a test included or appended to the article. For example, search for the name of the instrument or search for depression AND appended
- Dissertations sometimes contain the instrument used, often in an appendix.
Research Instrument Sources - Databases
- Mental Measurements Yearbook (Buros ) Actual tests may require purchase and/or be restricted to qualified personnel
- Educational Testing Service (ETS) Actual tests may require purchase and/or be restricted to qualified personnel
- CINAHL Limit to search for Instrument
- PsycINFO Limit to Assessment Instrument
- Digital Dissertations (formerly Dissertation Abstracts) Dissertations may include the research instrument used
- OAIster Dissertations may include the research instrument used
- Self-Report Measures University of Miami, Department of Psychology
Research Instrument Sources - Web Sites
- Alcohol and Drug Abuse Institute (ADAI)
University of Washington Substance Use Screening & Assessment Instruments Database - FAQ/Finding Information About Psychological Tests
Where to find what kind of tests - Center on Alcoholism, Substance Abuse, and Addictions (CASAA) University of New Mexico Assessment Instruments in English and Spanish. Select "Downloads" on the left
- Dr. William E. Snell, Jr.'s Assessment Instruments
- MentalHealth Net: Tests and Questionaires List of web and other sources for personality assessment instruments
- Neuropsychology Central Assessment Links Select Links and then Assessment.
- Stroke Scales & Clinical Assessment Tools Internet Stroke Center at Washington University.
- Tests and Measurements University of Maryland Libraries
- Tests and Measurements
University of Maryland Health Sciences Library - Locating Psychological and Educational Tests and Measurements University of Michigan Social Work Library
- Finding Tests, Surveys and Questionnaires University of Minnesota Bio-Medical Library
- Locating Tests for Measuring Health University of Pittsburgh
- Tests and Testing Information Western Washington Libraries
- Bibliographic Resource Guide /Behavioral Tests and Measures in the Health Sciences Yale Medical Library
Research Instrument Sources - by Name
Find a test by name.
Mental Measurements Yearbook (Buros) - Buros Institute of Mental Measurements
Call Number: ISU Main Library Z5814 .P8 B9323
ISBN/ISSN: 0910674299
Both an online database and print volumes. Actual tests may require purchase and/or be restricted to qualified personnel
Tests in Print - Buros Institute of Mental Measurements
Call Number: ISU Main Library LB3051 .T47 2002
ISBN/ISSN: 0910674590
ISU Main Library
LB3051 .T47 2002
BF698.5 .B878 1999
LB3051 .T47 1983
LB3051 B82
Z5814.E9 B8
Index: Z5814 .P8 B9323- Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business - Richard C. Sweetland
Call Number: ISU Reference Collection BF 176 .T43 1991
ISBN/ISSN: 0890792550 - Test Critiques - Test Corporation of America
Call Number: ISU Reference Collection BF176 .T419 1984
ISBN/ISSN: 0961128666 - CINAHL
Limit to search for Instrument
Research Instrument Sources - by Subject
Find tests on an issue, topic, or subject
- ETS Test Collection Catalog - Educational Testing Service
Call Number: ISU Main Library LB3051 .E79
ISBN/ISSN: 0897747437
Most are restricted tests which require documentation of training or academic credentials - Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures - ACRL
Call Number: ISU Main Library BF431 .G625 & BF431 .J29 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 0838981747
Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement - Sage Publications
Call Number: ISU Main Library H62 M44
ISBN/ISSN: 0803942206- Measures for Psychological Assessment: A Guide to 3,000 Original Sources and their Applications - Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research
Call Number: ISU Reference Collection BF698.5 .C45
ISBN/ISSN: 0879441682
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment - John Wiley & Sons
Call Number: ISU Reference Collection BF176 .C654 2004
ISBN/ISSN: 047141610X
Measures for Clinical Practice: A Sourcebook - Free Press
Call Number: ISU Main Library BF176 .C66
ISBN/ISSN: 0684848309- Women and Women's Issues: A Handbook of Tests and Measures - Jossey-Bass
Call Number: ISU Main Library HQ1180 .B43
ISBN/ISSN: 0875894186 - Tests and Measurements in Child Development: A Handbook - Jossey-Bass
Call Number: ISU Main Library BF722 .J64
ISBN/ISSN: 0875890903 - Exacting Beauty: Theory, Assessment, and Treatment of Body Image Disturbance - American Psychological Association
Call Number: ISU Main Library RC569.5.B65 E93 1999
ISBN/ISSN: 1557985413
Sourcebook of nonverbal measures: going beyond words - Lawrence Erlbaum
Call Number: ISU Main Library P99.5 .S58 2005
ISBN/ISSN: 0805847464- Measuring Violence-Related Attitudes, Behaviors, and Influences Among Youths: A Compendium of Assessment Tools - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Call Number: ISU Gov Docs U.S HE 20.7952:V 81/2005
Construct a Test
Psychological testing - Anne Anastasi
Call Number: ISU Main Library BF176 .A5 1997
ISBN/ISSN: 0023030852
Psychometric theory - McGraw-Hill
Call Number: ISU Main Library BF39 .N8 1994
ISBN/ISSN: 007047849X
Survey kit - Arlene Fink
Call Number: ISU Main Library HN29 S724 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 0761925104
My Profile |
Shelley ArvinContact Info:
Room 113
Cunningham Memorial Library
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809
(812) 237-2605
Send Email
Subjects:
biology, chemistry, nursing, physics, distance learning
Room 113
Cunningham Memorial Library
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809
(812) 237-2605
Send Email
Subjects:
biology, chemistry, nursing, physics, distance learning
Librarian |
Susan M. FreyContact Info:
Indiana State University
Cunningham Memorial Library
(812) 237-2580
Send Email
Subjects:
Information Literacy, Instructional Design & Technology, History, Business
Indiana State University
Cunningham Memorial Library
(812) 237-2580
Send Email
Subjects:
Information Literacy, Instructional Design & Technology, History, Business
Subject Guide |
Steve HardinContact Info:
LC 112
237-7685
Send Email
Subjects:
Geography, Geology, Anthropology, Mathematics, Computer Science, Political Science
LC 112
237-7685
Send Email
Subjects:
Geography, Geology, Anthropology, Mathematics, Computer Science, Political Science
Guide For PhD Students |
Carol LunceContact Info:
Education/Psychology/Sociology Librarian
104b Cunningham Memorial Library
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809
812 237 2058 voice
Send Email
Subjects:
Education, Psychology, Sociology, Science Education
Education/Psychology/Sociology Librarian
104b Cunningham Memorial Library
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809
812 237 2058 voice
Send Email
Subjects:
Education, Psychology, Sociology, Science Education
Subject Guide |
Rolland McGiverinContact Info:
Room 104
Cunningham Memorial Library
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809
(812) 237-2615
Send Email
Subjects:
Aviation Technology, Air Force ROTC, Electronics and Computer Technology, Industrial and Mechanical Technology, Industrial Technology Education, Manufacturing and Construction Technology, Motorsports Studies
Room 104
Cunningham Memorial Library
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809
(812) 237-2615
Send Email
Subjects:
Aviation Technology, Air Force ROTC, Electronics and Computer Technology, Industrial and Mechanical Technology, Industrial Technology Education, Manufacturing and Construction Technology, Motorsports Studies
Marsha Miller |
Contact Info:
812.237.2606
Library, Reference/Instruction Dept, room 106
Send Email
Subjects:
Communication Department, Women's Studies Program, Family & Consumer Science Dept., College of NHHS, HHS Departments, Information Literacy, LGBTQ resources
812.237.2606
Library, Reference/Instruction Dept, room 106
Send Email
Subjects:
Communication Department, Women's Studies Program, Family & Consumer Science Dept., College of NHHS, HHS Departments, Information Literacy, LGBTQ resources
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait