About Us Campus Map Floor Plan Library Locations by Floor Parking 
Circulation Course Reserves Information Literacy Standards Interlibrary Loan Journey of a Book Library Services TutorialsReference/Instruction School VisitsSpecial Collections Wabash Valley Visions & Voices 
Assignment Calculator HELP!Literature Distribution TimetablePick a Topic Primary/Secondary SourcesResearch Game Strategy Research Planner Search Techniques 
Dewey DecimalISU Catalog SearchISU Catalog Search StrategiesLC Call NumbersLC Subject HeadingsSuDoc
Cheat SheetEBSCO go toEBSCO Search TutorialsEBSCO Special FeaturesProQuest TutorialsScienceDirectSearch TechniquesTutorials
ILL TutorialsInterlibrary LoanScienceDirect
Dissertations/ThesesGovt Docs NewspapersOnline Reference Books PeriodicalsPrimary / Secondary Sources Research InstrumentsScholarly vs Popular
GoogleImage, Audio, VideoInternet Quick Links Search EnginesWikipediaYahoo
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ISU Library Basics 

What you need to know to get started with your research at the ISU Library.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.indstate.edu/isulibbasics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Sources             Print Page
  
 

Types of Sources

What you are looking for can make a difference in where you should look. Different types of sources offer different information.

Books:
Books take about a year to be published. They will not include the latest studies and research. Textbooks and encyclopedias are good for basic information. Further editions of books demonstrate that a source has been updated to reflect new information and may be a standard source in the field. Are there newer editions available?

Reference Books:
Reference books, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, collect accepted facts from the established literature. In health and science, they can be huge and may take years to put together. Therefore, they do not contain the most current information, although they may mention studies that were recent at the the time of publication. But they are a good one-stop-shop to start by learning the basics of a topic.

Journals:
The latest research is published in journals. Journal articles are shorter than books so they usually focus on more specific topics. It can be difficult to find basic information in journals. Nowadays, most journals have a web site that allows viewing of the table of contents and summaries of articles.

Databases:
Databases are very useful and efficient for searching through journals. Sometimes they include books and other sources. Every database follows different rules for searching and storage. Effective use depends on knowing those rules. Commercial medical and science databases commonly provide only summaries of articles and do not include full text. They can be very expensive.

Sounds and Audio

Videos and Podcasts

 

My Profile

Profile ImageShelley Arvin


Contact Info:
Room 113
Cunningham Memorial Library
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809
(812) 237-2605
Send Email

Subjects:
biology, chemistry, nursing, physics, distance learning

My Profile

Profile ImageAnthony Kaiser
Contact Info:
(812) 237-2629
Send Email

Librarian

Profile ImageSusan M. Frey
Contact Info:
Indiana State University
Cunningham Memorial Library
(812) 237-2580
Send Email

Subjects:
Information Literacy, Instructional Design & Technology, History, Business

Subject Guide

Guide For PhD Students

Profile ImageCarol Lunce
Contact Info:
Education/Psychology/Sociology Librarian
104b Cunningham Memorial Library
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809
812 237 2058 voice
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, Psychology, Sociology, Science Education

Subject Guide

Profile ImageRolland McGiverin

Marsha Miller

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait