About Us Campus Map Floor Plan Library Locations by Floor Parking 
Circulation Course Reserves Information Literacy Standards Interlibrary Loan Journey of a Book Library Services TutorialsReference/Instruction School VisitsSpecial Collections Wabash Valley Visions & Voices 
Assignment Calculator HELP!Literature Distribution TimetablePick a Topic Primary/Secondary SourcesResearch Game Strategy Research Planner Search Techniques 
Dewey DecimalISU Catalog SearchISU Catalog Search StrategiesLC Call NumbersLC Subject HeadingsSuDoc
Cheat SheetEBSCO go toEBSCO Search TutorialsEBSCO Special FeaturesProQuest TutorialsScienceDirectSearch TechniquesTutorials
ILL TutorialsInterlibrary LoanScienceDirect
Dissertations/ThesesGovt Docs NewspapersOnline Reference Books PeriodicalsPrimary / Secondary Sources Research InstrumentsScholarly vs Popular
GoogleImage, Audio, VideoInternet Quick Links Search EnginesWikipediaYahoo
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ISU Library Basics 

What you need to know to get started with your research at the ISU Library.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.indstate.edu/isulibbasics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Literature Distribution Timetable             Print Page
  
 

Timetable

IDEA   IDEA
GREY LITERATURE? OR PRIMARY LITERATURE? research being conducted invisible college
seminar within researcher's organization
written progress report to funding agency
e-mail
electronic newsgroup
discussion list
conference lecture
laboratory notebook
research completed rapid communication journals (short report)
letters journals (short report)
news journals (short report, weekly)
preprint
technical report
personal Web site (if before formal publication)
books (old old old stuff OR stuff that couldn't get published in a journal)

PRIMARY LITERATURE                                                                                             

publication process (year) article (or series) in conference proceedings [usu. book, primary journal, govt pub) Often only editor reviews, sometimes sooner than journal article
article (or series) in scientific journals
dissertation or thesis (libraries often don't carry, many indexed in Dissertation Abstracts or other)
patent (libraries often don't carry, many indexed in Chem Abstracts or other)
final report to funding agency (libraries often don't carry, many indexed in Chem Abstracts or other)
SECONDARY LITERATURE 0-1 month from primary lit. current awareness services (or journals)
0-9 months from primary lit. indexing service or journal
standard interest profiles
SDI (selective dissemination of information)
3-9 months from primary lit. abstracting service or journal
1-3 years from primary lit. review (serial) - summary of topic, less detail, 1-2 years later (Advances in..., Progress in..., Review) within conference proceedings or special of primary journal
2-5 years from primary lit. monographs  - one author writes chapters on new topics in science, strong editorial control, broader scope than monograph or multigraph, requires knowledge of discipline
treatise - multi volume; logical, classified order; covers entire subject field, requires knowledge of discipline
multigraphs (managed texts, composite works, multi-authored books) - experts write chapters on new topics in science, strong editorial control, requires knowledge of discipline
data compilation - data, numbers, & equations
? symposium talk which summarizes a field
SECONDARY? OR TERTIARY? 2-5 years from primary lit. encyclopedia - few references, broad but less detail 
handbook - data, numbers, & equations
dictionary
textbook
 ? bibliographies
citation indexes
atlases, scientific
thesauri
biographical sources
TERTIARY LITERATURE  7-10 years works that are designed to teach you how to use primary and secondary works
guides to the literature
directories
lists of periodicals
buyers guides
biographical sources
 ? compendia
full-text computer databases
review articles, sometimes
popular literature
library catalogs
 

My Profile

Profile ImageShelley Arvin


Contact Info:
Room 113
Cunningham Memorial Library
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809
(812) 237-2605
Send Email

Subjects:
biology, chemistry, nursing, physics, distance learning

My Profile

Profile ImageAnthony Kaiser
Contact Info:
(812) 237-2629
Send Email

Librarian

Profile ImageSusan M. Frey
Contact Info:
Indiana State University
Cunningham Memorial Library
(812) 237-2580
Send Email

Subjects:
Information Literacy, Instructional Design & Technology, History, Business

Subject Guide

Guide For PhD Students

Profile ImageCarol Lunce
Contact Info:
Education/Psychology/Sociology Librarian
104b Cunningham Memorial Library
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809
812 237 2058 voice
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, Psychology, Sociology, Science Education

Subject Guide

Profile ImageRolland McGiverin

Marsha Miller

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait