Finding Journals Articles
So, you've found an article citation and you want to get the entire article. What do you do? Where do you go to find the article? You will need to find a copy of the journal.
Students taking all distance learning classes (and, therefore, are assumed to not have easy access to ISU's campus) during a semester can request that Interlibrary Loan send them physical materials owned by ISU's Cunningham Memorial Library. Some materials, such as DVDs and reference materials, do not qualify.
e-Reserves
To find articles on reserve,
1. Go to the Library Homepage at http://library.indstate.edu/
1. click on "Course Reserve" from the Library homepage.
2. Then click on "Electronic Reserves & Reserve Pages." You can browse for reserve items by course number, department, or instructor.
LinkSource
LinkSource is a software program that connects ISU databases together to allow access to full text. ISU uses the link Check For Availability. If full text is not available in the database, click on Check For Availability to see if it is full text in another ISU database. A new window will open on your computer. If possible, you will be linked directly to the full text article, but sometimes you are linked to the journal page and you have to browse to the appropriate date, volume, issue, and page numbers.
DO NOT BUY THE ARTICLE. If you are given an option to buy the article, don’t! Use our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service to get the article for free. ILL costs are covered by your tuition.
Remote Storage
Some ISU print journals are located in Remote Storage. This storage space is only accessible to library personnel. The library send staff to Remote Storage once a day in the afternoon to pick up requested items and bring them back to the Circulation Desk.
To request a Remote Storage item,
- Go to the ISU Library homepage at http://library.indstate.edu/
- Under Quick Links, click the Questions drop-down and select request a remote storage item.The Remote Storage Retrieval Form appears.
- Fill out the form and click Submit.
- In the late afternoon or the next morning, go to the Circulation Desk and ask if your item has arrived.
Microfilm and Microform
Some older issues of journals are available on Microform or Microfilm in the ISU Library. This is when the journal pages have been placed on pages or reels of film.
To view Microfilm or Microform item,
- Go to the ISU Library homepage at http://library.indstate.edu/
-
Enter the journal title into the search box of the Library Catalog. Select "Journal Title" and click Search.
-
Examine all retrieved records by clicking on the number of the record. Look at the information under "Holdings" to see if ISU has the date you need.
-
Write down the Call Number and the shelving location (Microfilm).
- Go to the Basement and find the Microfilm using the journal title and the call number.
- Take the Microfilm back to the Microfilm Readers located near the student printers on the Main Floor.
- Using the instructions next to the Readers, view the Microfilm and navigate to your article.
- Print or save the article.
Steps to Find Full-Text
If you have a citation and you need the full-text of the article
- Check to see if the ISU has an online subscription to your journal
- If not, check to see if ScienceDirect contains full-text of your article (service suspended)
- If not, check to see if the ISU Library has a print subscription to your journal
- If not, order the article using the Interlibrary Loan service
Electronic Journals
To find out if we have electronic access to a journal, check the ISU Library's
E-journals/E-newspapers database of online journals.
-
Go to the ISU Library homepage at http://library.indstate.edu/
-
Click Electronic Resources.
-
Under Find e-journals by title or ISSN and to the right of Title begins with, enter the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. Click Search.
-
A list of results appears with your words in the title of the journal. Scroll the list for your journal. When you find it, click the database name which contains the appropriate year of your journal article. The database will open in a new window. Browse to the appropriate year and article.
Different databases will do this differently. Some take you directly to the article; some to the journal. One only opens the correct database and you have to search for the article you want.
Print Journals
To find a print journal subscription,
- Go to the ISU Library homepage at http://library.indstate.edu/
-
Enter the journal title into the search box of the Library Catalog. Select "Journal Title" and click Search.
-
Examine all retrieved records by clicking on the number of the record. Look at the information under "Holdings" to see if ISU has the date you need.
-
Write down the Call Number and the shelving location (Reference, ISU Gov Docs, Stacks, etc.).
-
Go in the ISU Library to the shelving location and use the call number to find the correct journal.
-
Photocopy the article.
Students taking all distance learning classes (and, therefore, are assumed to not have easy access to ISU's campus) during a semester can request that Interlibrary Loan send them physical materials owned by ISU's Cunningham Memorial Library. Some materials, such as DVDs and reference materials, do not qualify.
ILL
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
If ISU does not have either an electronic subscription, ScienceDirect access, or a print subscription that includes your article, go to Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
-
Go to the ISU Library homepage at http://library.indstate.edu/
-
Click Services.
-
Click Interlibrary Loan.
-
(If you have never used ILL before, click Create an ILLiad Account).
-
(Scroll down and click First Time Users Click Here.)
-
(After you register, you will enter the Illiad system.)
-
-
If you have used ILL before, enter your ILL Username and Password.
-
Click Logon to Illiad.
-
Under the heading New Request, select Article.
-
Fill in the information and click Submit Request.
-
You will receive an e-mail when your article arrives. It will tell you to log into your ILL Account. Then click Electronically Received Articles.
My Profile |
Shelley ArvinRoom 113
Cunningham Memorial Library
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809
(812) 237-2605
Send Email
Subjects:
biology, chemistry, nursing, physics, distance learning
Librarian |
Susan M. FreyIndiana State University
Cunningham Memorial Library
(812) 237-2580
Send Email
Subjects:
Information Literacy, Instructional Design & Technology, History, Business
Subject Guide |
Steve HardinLC 112
237-7685
Send Email
Subjects:
Geography, Geology, Anthropology, Mathematics, Computer Science, Political Science
Guide For PhD Students |
Carol LunceEducation/Psychology/Sociology Librarian
104b Cunningham Memorial Library
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809
812 237 2058 voice
Send Email
Subjects:
Education, Psychology, Sociology, Science Education
Subject Guide |
Rolland McGiverinRoom 104
Cunningham Memorial Library
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809
(812) 237-2615
Send Email
Subjects:
Aviation Technology, Air Force ROTC, Electronics and Computer Technology, Industrial and Mechanical Technology, Industrial Technology Education, Manufacturing and Construction Technology, Motorsports Studies
Marsha Miller |
812.237.2606
Library, Reference/Instruction Dept, room 106
Send Email
Subjects:
Communication Department, Women's Studies Program, Family & Consumer Science Dept., College of NHHS, HHS Departments, Information Literacy, LGBTQ resources
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait