Key Links
- ISU Electronic Resources Choose a database to search for journal articles. Search for full-text online journal titles.
Library Tutorials
- Introduction to the ISU Library Basic introduction to the ISU Library homepage layout and content. Also about library services.
- Getting Started in the ISU Library Slide tutorial of strategies to approach library assignments
- Evaluating Articles Slide tutorial of how to evaluate articles and distinguish scholarly, popular and trade publications.
- Evaluating Web Sites Slide tutorial of how to evaluate Web sites for quality and reliable content.
- Finding Full-Text How to find full-text when you have a citation.
- Plagiarism Slide tutorial of how to avoid plagiarism; how to paraphrase; how to cite sources
- Choosing a Database Slide tutorial of how to choose the right database(s) for your topic
Database Tutorials
- EBSCO Video showing how to search EBSCOhost databases
- ProQuest Slide tutorial of how to search the ProQuest databases
- CINAHL Video showing how to search the CINAHL nursing database
- Cochrane Library Video showing how to search the Cochrane Library database of evidence-based medicine.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers Slide tutorial of how to search the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database
- Web of Science Slide tutorial of how to search the Web of Science database
- PubMed National Library of Medicine created tutorials showing how to search PubMed
Writing Tutorials
- APA Style Guide Slide tutorial of how to write and cite in APA citation style
- MLA Style Guide Slide tutorial of how to write and cite using MLA citation style
- Citation 9 Slide tutorial of how to use Citation 9 software to create and manage your references
- APA Paper Format Video tutorial describing how to format a paper in APA style.
- APA References Video tutorial describing how to format citations in APA style.
- APA Quiz Slide tutorial of a quiz over APA style based upon the two video tutorials APA Paper Format and APA References.
About Databases
A database is a structured collection of records or data. A file cabinet of files and folders is a database. A spreadsheet of data is a database. A software program of searchable bibliographic library records is also a database and is more commonly thought of when the term "database" is used.
The ISU Library provides access to many electronic databases that are useful for research, study, and lnowledge acquisition. Some are available for free to anyone but some are provided through a subscription paid by the Indiana State University Library.
Electronic databases use a search engine to access and retrieve relevant records. The patron enters into the search engine terms relevant to what he wants to know and the search engine retrieves records with those terms according to whatever rules were programmed into that search engine. Different search engines work differently. And different databases contain different records within them so it is useful to search more than one database if you are researching a topic thoroughly.
Boolean Operators
Most databases allow the user different searching methods. One of the most common searching methods is Boolean Searching, also called keyword searching. This type of search tells the database to retrieve all of the records in the database which contain a word or a set of words. You can alter the results by using Boolean Operators which are the words AND, OR and NOT. See below for an explanation of these terms. Some databases require the Boolean operators to be capitalized or they are searched just like regular search terms.
AND
Example: cookies AND milk
Will retrieve records which contain the word “cookies” and the word “milk.” This operator is used to lessen the number of records retrieved. This is the most common default Boolean term.
OR
Example: caffeine OR coffee
Will retrieve records which contain the word “caffeine” or the word “coffee.” This operator is used to broaden the number of records retrieved.
Example: chocolate NOT cake
Will retrieve records which contain only the word "chocolate" but not the word "cake." This operator is used to reduce the number of records retrieved.
- The Boolean Machine Roackwell Schrock coded this Web page to visually demonstrate how Boolean operators work in a search.
- Boolean Handout
- Keyword/Boolean Searching
- Boolean Searching Owen Library, Northwest Missouri
- Fruits of Boolean Searching Owen Library, Northwest Missouri
- Concept Map Creator Owen Library, Northwest Missouri
- Brainstorming for Synonyms Owen Library, Northwest Missouri
- Constructing a Search Strategy Owen Library, Northwest Missouri
Nesting
Use to preserve the “logic” of your Boolean Search. Nesting is the use of parenthesis to put your search words into sets. If you do not use parentheses, Boolean terms are connected according to the default functions of the database. Because it is difficult to keep track of differences in databases and because almost every database accepts parentheses, it is suggested that parentheses ALWAYS be used in a complicated search phrase.
(Huntingtons AND disease) OR chorea
Huntingtons AND (disease OR chorea)
((diabetes OR diabete) AND (hypertension OR (high blood pressure))) NOT therapy
- Constructing a Search Strategy Owen Library, Northwest Missouri
- Search Generator Owen Library, Northwest Missouri
Truncation
Use to find different forms of words in a Boolean or keyword search. Some databases use the asterisk, some use a dollar sign, and others use the question mark. The symbol may represent one character or they could represent multiple characters. They usually apply to word endings. They may or may not apply at the beginning or middle of a word. Check the help function of the database you are using to learn the truncation symbol and rules.
Neuron* Will retrieve neuron, neurons, neuronal,
neuronopathy, etc.
The most common truncation symbols are * and ?
- Truncation Owen Library, Northwest Missouri
Stopwords
Commonly used words that occur too frequently in records will either be ignored and not searched or they will automatically stop or prevent a computer keyword search. Stop words are usually listed in the Help screens of whatever database you are using. Commonly used words rarely help refine your search results.
Some common stop words are: the, an, at, for, from, of, then.
Phrase Searching
|
Phrases are treated differently in databases. Some automatically assume two adjacent words are a phrase. Others require the use of quotation marks or parentheses to search for a phrase. Databases that automatically assume two words are a phrase often ignore the quotation marks if they are unnecessary. Because it is difficult to keep track of differences in databases, it is suggested you use quotation marks when you enter a phrase. "common cold" "shortness of breath" (View Stopwords to avoid a possible An exact phrase finds the words in exactly the same order. “Heart attack” “attack heart” |
Subject Headings
Most databases assign subject categories in a hierarchy from general to specific.
Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) are hierarchical. To Explode a Subject Heading
in a search includes all subject headings subordinate to the Subject Search Term.
§ Dogs
o Terrier
§ Fox terrier
§ Bull terrier
o Hound
§ Bassett hound
§ Blood hound
A search for the following term in MEDLINE retrieves the following results.
Terrier matches records with Terrier as a subject heading
Terrier (Exploded) matches records with Terrier, Fox terrier, and Bull terrier
as subject headings
Subject headings are VERY important in searching health science databases.
CINAHL and MEDLINE are specifically designed to be searched using the
subject headings.
Thesaurus
Many databases contain a thesaurus. This is a directory of assigned Subject
Headings {eg. Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)}. Searching for a subject
heading instead of a word that happens to appear anywhere in a record can
reduce the number of irrelevant records retrieved from your search. Some
databases will automatically include synonyms in the search, whether you
want them to appear or not, so check the rules. This is called thesaurus mapping.
mapping occurs.
"heart attack" Myocardial Infarction is searched as a MeSH term
in addition to “heart attack” being searched as text
words.
Index
The Index is the list of words used by all the records in a database. A database does not directly search its records but actually searches its Index for your word(s), which then tells the database which records contain those words. Some databases allow you to browse the Index directly. The PubMed database contains four separate indexes: a Phrase Index, a Journal Title Index, an Author Names Index, and MeSH Headings.
Stopwords are not included in the database. That is why they cannot be searched.
Rules of Thumb
These are common rules of databases. Your database may not follow them.
Use parentheses to group complicated search requests.
Use quotation marks to group phrases.
The most common truncation symbols are * and ?
Most databases use AND as a default Boolean term.
Capitalize Boolean terms.
Failed Searches
|
Studies of medical information searches have identified common mistakes made. Questions to Ask Yourself After a Failed Search
Professor Katherine Schilling of IUPUI has researched medical students search strategies and found that these were the 10 most common research mistakes in Ovid MEDLINE. Listed in order by when they occur in the search process: 1. Failure to properly translate research/clinical question into a searchable strategy |
My Profile |
Shelley ArvinRoom 113
Cunningham Memorial Library
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809
(812) 237-2605
Send Email
Subjects:
biology, chemistry, nursing, physics, distance learning
Librarian |
Susan M. FreyIndiana State University
Cunningham Memorial Library
(812) 237-2580
Send Email
Subjects:
Information Literacy, Instructional Design & Technology, History, Business
Subject Guide |
Steve HardinLC 112
237-7685
Send Email
Subjects:
Geography, Geology, Anthropology, Mathematics, Computer Science, Political Science
Guide For PhD Students |
Carol LunceEducation/Psychology/Sociology Librarian
104b Cunningham Memorial Library
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809
812 237 2058 voice
Send Email
Subjects:
Education, Psychology, Sociology, Science Education
Subject Guide |
Rolland McGiverinRoom 104
Cunningham Memorial Library
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809
(812) 237-2615
Send Email
Subjects:
Aviation Technology, Air Force ROTC, Electronics and Computer Technology, Industrial and Mechanical Technology, Industrial Technology Education, Manufacturing and Construction Technology, Motorsports Studies
Marsha Miller |
812.237.2606
Library, Reference/Instruction Dept, room 106
Send Email
Subjects:
Communication Department, Women's Studies Program, Family & Consumer Science Dept., College of NHHS, HHS Departments, Information Literacy, LGBTQ resources
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait