ILL Tutorials
ISU Academic Integrity Plagiarism
ILL ScienceDirect
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Distance Learning at ISU Library  Tags: online distancelearning distanceeducation blackboard  

Information for online classes and distance learners at ISU
Last update: Nov 02nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.indstate.edu/distancelearning  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Tech Help             Print Page
  

Orientation

Office of Information Technology (OIT)

Reference Help

Reference and Instructional Services are available for distance education students.

Do you have a question about research? Are you having trouble accessing our services? Reference assistance is available in a variety of ways:

 

Off Campus Access

 

Database Access Troubleshooting

If you are having difficulty accessing a library database, here are some steps you can try before calling the ISU Reference Desk (812-237-2580). The library will go through these steps when you call to find out what the problem is and how they need to fix it.
 
A)  Is the problem with your Sycamore Password?
B)  Is the problem with a specific library database?
C)  Is the problem with a specific Internet browser (Internet Explorer, Firefox)?
D)  Delete cookies and try again.
     Delete Internet Files and try again.
     Clear your History and try again.
E)  Is the problem your institution's firewall?
 
********************************
A) Your Sycamore Password cannot contain blanks or special characters. Change your password, if appropriate.
.
B) Have you tried other databases?  For example, have you tried both Ebsco and ProQuest?  Sometimes an individual database does not work, and we must contact the company that owns the database.  Which database are you trying to reach?
 
C)  Have you tried another internet browser?  For example, if you are using Internet Explorer, have you tried Firefox?  Sometimes, files that are placed on your computer, called "cookies," become corrupt.  Since the cookies are attached to the specific browser, using a different browser might help.
 
D)  If all you have is Internet Explorer, have you tried deleting the cookies?  In IE, click the Tools menu and choose Internet Options.  Click Delete Cookies (and confirm).  Then click Delete Files (and confirm--including offline files).  Then click Clear History (and confirm).  Reload the page, and try to login.
 
E)  Are you trying to connect to the database using a company's Internet Connection?  Some companies place tight restrictions on their firewall, which can make connecting to remote databases somewhat challenging.  Are you able to connect from another location?  If you are able to connect to the database from one location, but not another, we can take a good guess as to the cause of the problem. We cannot change the firewall settings of another institution.
 

My Profile

Profile ImageShelley Arvin


Contact Info:
Room 113
Cunningham Memorial Library
Indiana State University
Terre Haute, IN 47809
(812) 237-2605
Send Email

Subjects:
biology, chemistry, nursing, physics, distance learning

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait