indiana state university home library home libguides home library home indiana state university home ezproxy login Image Map
LibGuides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W

A
Active Duty Military, Veterans and Family Resources
by Karen Evans - Last Updated Aug 12, 2014
Provides information on a variety of resources for active duty military, veterans and their families.
Activity Theory (CHAT)
by Susan Frey - Last Updated Aug 5, 2013
Cultural historical activity theory (CHAT) is a psychological meta-theory used in theoretical and applied psychology and applied to multiple disciplines. This guide focuses primarliy on links to resources for information science and education.
Alerts
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Sep 16, 2014
Instructions for how to set up alerts using different publishers or databases. In addition, sometimes the Web site of a journal provides a way to create a Table of Contents alert.
AMA Style
by Shelley Arvin, Marsha Miller - Last Updated Sep 10, 2014
Presents the American Medical Association citation style for citing publications and sources
Animal Welfare
by Elizabeth Lorenzen - Last Updated Oct 22, 2013
Art, Architecture and Photography
by Elizabeth Lorenzen - Last Updated May 17, 2013
This page is a selective guide to assist students with locating initial resources in Art, Architecture and Photography.
Astronomy
by Shelley Arvin, Steve Hardin - Last Updated Jul 25, 2014
Aviation
by Rolland McGiverin - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
B
Balancing Work and Life: A Guide to Resources
by Elizabeth Lorenzen - Last Updated Sep 29, 2014
This guide is a companion to Indiana State University's annual Work-Life Conference in the Library Events Area (created October 2012). The Conference supports ISU's Strategic Plan Goal 6, Initiative 1: "Enhance the quality of life for faculty and staff."
Banned Books Week
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Sep 26, 2013
Every September, the American Library Association and others sponsor this week to commemorate our right to read freely by highlighting banned and challenged books.
Beginning Scholarly Research
by Edith Campbell - Last Updated Aug 6, 2014
BIOL 609
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Aug 19, 2014
Biology
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Aug 29, 2014
Biology information
Breast Cancer
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Mar 14, 2014
Web site for using the Internet to find health information and blogging on breast cancer
Business and Economics
by Rolland McGiverin - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
C
Career Guide
by Rolland McGiverin, Heather Rayl - Last Updated Jan 8, 2014
This guide will help you explore careers, look for jobs, write resumes, and practice interviewing techniques. This guide is co-sponsored by the Indiana State University Career Center.
Career Resources
by Elizabeth Lorenzen - Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
Charles Mayer Collection
by Elizabeth Lorenzen - Last Updated Jun 19, 2012
Chemistry
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
Chicago Style
by Nicole Bailey - Last Updated Aug 15, 2011
Climate Change
by Shelley Arvin, Steve Hardin - Last Updated Aug 16, 2012
Subject guide on Global Warming, Climate Change, Greenhouse Effect, Climatic Change
Comm 101 - Informative and Persuasive Speeches
by Steve Hardin - Last Updated Sep 26, 2014
Resources designed to support the Comm 101 research requirements Information and Persuasive Speeches and Group Presentations. Library online and print resources and reliable Internet sources are included
Community Garden
by Edith Campbell - Last Updated Aug 4, 2014
Constitution Day and Citizenship Day
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Sep 17, 2013
Constitution Day, September 17, is celebrated at Indiana State University by one more events on or around September 17.
Construction Technology
by Rolland McGiverin - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
CSE Style Guide
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Aug 16, 2012
Citation style tips based upon the Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Author, Editors and Publishers, 7th edition, 2006.
D
DATABASES
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Sep 3, 2014
One stop shop to learn about the variety of databases available to ISU
Digital Humanities
by Natalie Bulick - Last Updated Jun 22, 2012
A guide for humanities students and scholars interested in exploring the application of technology to support, augment, propel their research.
Distance Learning at ISU Library
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Jun 17, 2014
Information for online classes and distance learners at ISU. It is the responsibility of Indiana State University Library to provide access to library materials and databases to ISU students no matter where they take a course.
E
Earth & Environmental Systems
by Steve Hardin - Last Updated Aug 25, 2014
Research information relevant to EES
Education
by Edith Campbell - Last Updated Sep 19, 2014
The library is one of the most important sources for the 21st century educator. This one stop portal will support education students in their research about teaching and learning.
Education Graduate Studies
by Edith Campbell - Last Updated Sep 19, 2014
EndNote and Bibliographic Management Software
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Sep 17, 2014
Bibliographic management software is an application designed to store, organize, manage, and format your citations into the appropriate citation style.
Energy Sources
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Sep 7, 2012
ENG 108 Derrick
by Shelley Arvin, Cheryl Blevens - Last Updated Nov 2, 2011
Fall 2011
Ethnomusicology
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Sep 10, 2013
Evidence-Based Practice
by Shelley Arvin, Marsha Miller - Last Updated Sep 19, 2014
Evidence-Based Practice for the health disciplines
Eye on Diversity
by Edith Campbell - Last Updated Jun 25, 2014
F
Faculty Center for Teaching Excellence
by Edith Campbell - Last Updated Jul 7, 2014
"You Have to Reach Them to Teach Them"
Fall Read at Indiana State University
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Sep 23, 2013
Resources to support the Fall Read, the book, the documentary and assignments based on the chosen title
Finding Full Text
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Sep 10, 2014
How to find full-text when starting from a citation
Finding Help
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Jan 24, 2012
Where to find help with research
Finding ISU Theses and Dissertations
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012
Information concerning how to find Indiana State University theses and dissertations and how to obtain full-text.
Foundational Studies: Facilitators Resources
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Sep 10, 2013
Supporting the Foundational Studies Certificate Program; brown bag program facilitators' materials gathered here.
Freshman Writing: Library Research
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Nov 1, 2013
Basics of library resource use - online catalog, databases, topic selection; based on ISU's Freshman Writing courses, Eng 105 & 107
Freshwater Systems
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Aug 18, 2014
About any ecological system related to freshwater: lakes, rivers, streams, ponds, groundwater, etc.
G
Gender and Economics
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Sep 22, 2014
Research guide to support Econ 353/WS 401 Gender & Economics course.
H
Health & Safety Research
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Jan 26, 2012
Target audience: students in Applied Health Sciences HLTH 341 Research Methods
History of Costume TAM 314
by Elizabeth Lorenzen - Last Updated Nov 5, 2013
These resources will assist with identifying time periods, people and events related to costume before the nineteenth century throughout the world.
Human Resource Development
by Rolland McGiverin - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
Human Rights Day - 2011 - Article 26: The Right to Education
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Apr 14, 2011
10th annual HRD, a combined campus/community event, based on the principles outlined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights http://www.indstate.edu/hrd/declaration.htm
Hunger
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Jan 23, 2013
Primary support target: World Hunger and Nutrition course
I
Indiana Natural History
by Shelley Arvin, Steve Hardin - Last Updated Jun 27, 2014
Resources to discover information about ecoregions, water resources, geological features, and the natural history of Indiana.
Indiana State University Math & Writing Center
by Nicole Bailey - Last Updated Sep 25, 2014
The MWC helps students from all departments develop the essential skills of math and writing.
Industrial Technology Education
by Rolland McGiverin - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
Interior Design
by Rolland McGiverin - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
Interlibrary Loan
by Shelley Arvin, Holli Moseman - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
Internet
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Aug 16, 2014
ISU LIBRARY BASICS
by Shelley Arvin, Steve Hardin, Rolland McGiverin, Marsha Miller - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
What you need to know to get started with your research at the ISU Library.
K
Kinesiology, Recreation and Sport
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Sep 10, 2013
Support for department's programs: nationally recognized programs in Coaching, Dance, Exercise Science, Martial Arts, Nonprofit Leadership, PE-Teacher Education, Recreation Mgmt &Youth Leadership, Recreational Therapy, Sport Mgmt, Strength/Conditioning
L
Legal Research
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Sep 10, 2013
Research techniques and Library and Internet resources based on an undergraduate legal research course (at ISU: Political Science 211)
Library Annual Events
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Sep 3, 2014
Library-related events held the ISU Library
Library Assessment
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated May 21, 2014
Guidelines to create and manage a library assessment plan
Library Extravaganza
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Sep 22, 2014
Description of annual event; what information will be available, who is participating, etc.
Literature Reviews
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Jul 8, 2013
Stepwise introduction and review for producing literature reviews
M
Mammalogy
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Oct 15, 2013
Media Writing
by Steve Hardin - Last Updated Jun 4, 2013
Created to support journalism courses including Media Writing - introduction to writing for broadcast media [print, TV, Internet, radio, public relations]
MEDLINE
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Jun 1, 2014
Music
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Oct 7, 2013
This page is a selective guide to assist Music students with locating initial resources
Music 150: Introduction to Music Traditions
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Sep 10, 2013
An introductory guide developed in support of Music 150 course. For a more advanced Music Research guide, please visit: http://libguides.indstate.edu/MUSIC
N
NUR 322
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Sep 19, 2014
NUR 322 - Research/Theoretical Basis for Nursing Practice.
Nursing
by Shelley Arvin, Marsha Miller - Last Updated Sep 19, 2014
Primary target audience is ISU Nursing students, both on-campus and distance learners. Secondary audience includes students in Applied Medicine and Rehabilitation, Applied Health Sciences and anyone interested in researching medical/health topics.
Nutrition
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Sep 10, 2014
Designed to support the Indiana State University Nutrition curriculum, concentrating on health & medical aspects
O
Occupational Therapy
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated May 14, 2013
Supports the OT program in the Applied Medicine and Rehabilitation Department, College of Nursing, Health & Human Services
Open Educational Resources
by Heather Rayl - Last Updated Sep 5, 2014
Learn how to incorporate open educational resources into your classroom.
P
Physics
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Jun 25, 2014
Physics
Poverty, Hunger and Homelessness
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Mar 28, 2014
This site supports a theme that is used in several courses, including Political Science 107
Prospect Research
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Jul 12, 2012
Research potential donors: companies, individuals. Philanthropy. Fund-raising. Created for Association of Professional Researchers for Advancement [APRA] - Indiana meeting, June 2012
Psychology
by Rolland McGiverin - Last Updated Aug 28, 2013
R
Resources for Students Success Research
by Edith Campbell - Last Updated Jun 13, 2013
Resources for faculty, adjuncts, and staff to improve student retention, success, and completion.
S
Safety Management
by Rolland McGiverin - Last Updated Feb 7, 2014
Science
by Shelley Arvin, Steve Hardin - Last Updated Aug 27, 2014
Science Databases
by Shelley Arvin, Steve Hardin - Last Updated Jun 25, 2014
Information about and training options for many science databases
Science Vendors
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Feb 12, 2013
Links to Web sites of science publishers and vendors of books, journals, and other information materials.
ScienceDirect
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Feb 13, 2013
ISU has a special contract with the ScienceDirect database to immedicately buy individual articles via its journals instead of having a subscription to all of the journals.
Servant Leadership
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Apr 23, 2013
Social Work: Population Information
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Sep 19, 2014
Geared to Social Work 130 course but can be used by any social work student or topic seeker.
SOURCES
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Aug 15, 2014
Explains characteristics of different types of sources of information
Special Collections
by Cinda May - Last Updated Feb 10, 2014
SPSS
by Edith Campbell, Steve Hardin - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
Quick how to get started using SPSS on the computers in the library.
Sycamore Scholars
by Cinda May - Last Updated May 7, 2014
ISU Institutional Repository provides open and full text access to ISU intellectual output (e.g., student projects, theses, dissertations, conference paper)
T
Take Back the Night: bringing awareness to gendered violence
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Sep 28, 2014
Resources on sexual assault, date rape, harassment of all kinds. Supporting annual student-run ISU event, usually scheduled for November. Related campus initiatives also included.
Teaching Materials Collection
by Edith Campbell - Last Updated Aug 28, 2014
Technology Help
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Jan 18, 2012
Troubleshooting tips for accessing and using library technologies
The Psychology of Terrorism
by Karen Evans - Last Updated Sep 11, 2014
Theater & Film
by Steve Hardin, Elizabeth Lorenzen - Last Updated Feb 25, 2014
This is a selective guide developed to support research in Theater & Film
Turnitin for Instructors
by Steve Hardin - Last Updated Aug 13, 2012
Instructions on creating and using Turnitin assignments via Blackboard. Also includes information on how your students may use Turnitin through Blackboard.
Turnitin for Students
by Steve Hardin - Last Updated Aug 13, 2012
How students can access and use Turnitin
U
Union Hospital Internship Research
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Jun 2, 2014
University Archives
by Cinda May - Last Updated Feb 10, 2014
A Guide to Finding and Using Primary Sources
V
Vigo County War of 1812 Website
by Susan Frey - Last Updated Jun 25, 2014
The Vigo County War of 1812 Website is an online resource created in 2010 to support the work of the Vigo County, Indiana, War of 1812 Bicentennial Committee. The Committee, having fulfilled its charge, is now disbanded. This guide is no longer updated.
W
Wikipedia
by Shelley Arvin - Last Updated Jan 29, 2014
Women's Studies
by Marsha Miller - Last Updated Sep 19, 2013
A guide to support ISU's WS 200 'Introduction to Womens' Studies', and related classes. Coverage for on-campus and online students included.
Wrongful Convictions
by Karen Evans - Last Updated Sep 3, 2014
wrongfully convicted, judicial error, judicial misconduct, exonerations, DNA exonerations, false arrest, false conviction, post conviction exonerations, post conviction release

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Register for Email Alerts